The Texas State American Advertising Federation (AAF) team won fourth place in district competition held on April 14th in Oklahoma City.  District 10 consists of universities from the states of Texas, Oklahoma, Arkansas, and Louisiana.  The first place winners were Oklahoma State University and University of Texas.  The second place winner was West Texas A&M and third place was Texas A&M at College Station.

The AAF client this year was J. C. Penny and the target market was females 25-34. The Texas State presenters were Dan Wehmeier, Kristin Prixley, Lindsey Goldstein, Jamelyn Griffith, and Jordan Orsak.

Texas State teams have advanced to nationals 12 times since 1990, winning two national championships and placing in the top 4 an additional 8 times.  The AAF team is a multi-disciplinary team with marketing majors, advertising majors, public relations majors and communication design majors.  Faculty advisors are Dr. Mary Ann Stutts, professor of Marketing in the McCoy College of Business Administration and Dr. Alexander Muk, assistant professor of Advertising in the School of Journalism and Mass Communication.